There are 9 elected members of the Kitikmeot Inuit Association Board:

3 Officer/Board Members - Elected region wide

  • President
  • 1st Vice President
  • Vice President - Finance

6 Board Members - Representing each Kitikmeot community:

  •  Cambridge Bay
  • Kugluktuk;
  • Bay Chimo/Bathurst Inlet
  • Gjoa Haven
  • Taloyoak
  • Kugaaruk

Board Members are elected to a 3-year term with elections occurring on a rotational basis.  This ensures the Board is composed of both newly elected and existing members.
The following is the Kitikmeot Inuit Association Schedule for Elections for region wide Officers and Community Representatives:

  2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
President ELECTION     ELECTION    
1st Vice-President   ELECTION     ELECTION  
Vice-President Finance   ELECTION     ELECTION  
Cambridge Bay   ELECTION     ELECTION  
Kugluktuk ELECTION     ELECTION    
Bay Chimo - Bathurst Inlet ELECTION     ELECTION    
Gjoa Haven ELECTION     ELECTION    
Taloyoak ELECTION     ELECTION    
Kugaaruk ELECTION     ELECTION    

General Schedule for Nomination, Advance Poll, and Elections

Nominations Open: Early February
Nominations Close: Late February
Advance Poll: Mid March
Regular Poll: Late March