There are two Inuit languages in the Kitikmeot, Inuinnaqtun and Inuktitut. Inuinnaqtun is spoken in the western Kitikmeot communities of Cambridge Bay, Kugluktuk, Bay Chimo and Bathurst Inlet, who are of Copper Inuit descent. Eastern Kitikmeot communities of Gjoa Haven, Taloyoak and Kugaaruk, primarily descendants of the Netsilik Inuit, speak Inuktitut, as does the rest of Nunavut. However, there is enough commonality between the languages for the Inuit to understand each other in either tongue.

It is a primary goal of the Kitikmeot Inuit Association that the Kitikmeot Inuit be fluent and literate in both Inuinnaqtun and Inuktitut. Preservation of the Inuinnaqtun language is a high priority for the Kitikmeot Inuit Association, as it is a language spoken only in the Kitikmeot and one community in the Northwest Territories, Ulukhaktok. Inuinnaqtun is written in the Latin alphabet as opposed to the syllabics used in written Inuktitut.